Hyundai & IVECO officially take up ACEA membership January 2012

Brussels, 4 January 2012 – The European automobile manufacturers’ association ACEA welcomes two new members to the organisation: Hyundai Motor Europe and IVECO S.p.A. In line with the decision taken by the association’s General Assembly in June last year, membership of Hyundai and IVECO has taken effect on the 1st of January 2012.

The membership of Hyundai follows a period of already intensified cooperation between ACEA and the company, during which experts from Hyundai began to participate in numerous ACEA working groups. The formal membership decision was taken and communicated on 9 June 2011. The membership of IVECO mirrors the demerger of the companies Fiat S.p.A. and Fiat Industrial S.p.A. in early 2011. IVECO already played a distinct role within ACEA as a member of the association’s Commercial Vehicle Board.

About ACEA

  • The European Automobile Manufacturers’ Association (ACEA) represents the 16 major Europe-based car, van, truck and bus makers: BMW Group, DAF Trucks, Daimler Truck, Ferrari, Ford of Europe, Honda Motor Europe, Hyundai Motor Europe, Iveco Group, Jaguar Land Rover, Mercedes-Benz, Renault Group, Stellantis, Toyota Motor Europe, Volkswagen Group, Volvo Cars, and Volvo Group.
  • Visit for more information about ACEA, and follow us on or
  • Contact: Cara McLaughlin, Communications Director,, +32 485 88 66 47.

Interested in ACEA press releases?

Receive them directly in your inbox!

About the EU automobile industry

  • 13 million Europeans work in the auto industry (directly and indirectly), accounting for 7% of all EU jobs.
  • 11.5% of EU manufacturing jobs – some 3.4 million – are in the automotive sector.
  • Motor vehicles are responsible for €374.6 billion of tax revenue for governments across key European markets.
  • The automobile industry generates a trade surplus of €79.5 billion for the EU.
  • The turnover generated by the auto industry represents more than 8% of the EU’s GDP.
  • Investing €58.8 billion in R&D annually, the automotive sector is Europe’s largest private contributor to innovation, accounting for 32% of total EU spending.
Content type Press release
Vehicle types All vehicles
back to topback to top