Interactive map – Electric vehicle purchase incentives per country in Europe (2021 update)

This interactive map shows the market uptake of electrically-chargeable vehicles (ECVs) and the availability of incentives to promote electric car sales for each of the 27 member states of the European Union.

Key observations

  • Across the European Union, purchase incentives for electrically-chargeable vehicles (ECVs) still differ greatly per country, both when we look at the nature of these tax benefits as well as their monetary value.
  • This year, 17 countries offer purchase incentives (such as bonus payments or premiums) to buyers of ECVs – down from 20 in 2020.
  • 10 EU member states do not provide any purchase incentives for electric cars at the moment – that is four countries more than last year.
    • Belgium (10.7% ECV market share)
    • Bulgaria (n/a)
    • Cyprus (0.5% ECV market share)
    • Czech Republic (2.5% ECV market share)
    • Denmark (16.4% ECV market share)
    • Estonia (1.8% ECV market share)
    • Latvia (2.7% ECV market share)
    • Malta (n/a)
    • Poland (1.9% ECV market share)
    • Slovakia (1.9% ECV market share)
  • A more detailed overview of all fiscal stimuli for electrically-chargeable cars in the EU can be found here.

Note: GDP per capita and ECV market share for each country are full-year 2020 figures.

Content type Figure
back to topback to top